crazy morning

Well, it was an exciting and scary morning here at the farm. I hiked to the rabbit barn to start chores and all seemed well.  Could hear the chickens talking very loudly.  Suddenly I heard them slamming into the walls of the coop and cackling loudly.  When I raced to the coop and opened the door I discovered a weasel at work in the coop.  My husband and I set the chickens loose and proceeded to spend almost an hour chasing down the weasel.  Man can they go fast and climb and screech and all sorts of lovely stuff!  We prevailed and the chickens are safe but only after loosing three to the marauding weasel.  What a way to start my day.

About newdiscoveryfarm

I was born and raised here in rural Marshfield, Vermont. My parents and grandparents were dairy farmers and also produced maple syrup, chickens, pigs and had large vegetable gardens. Farming for me was a natural progression as I decided what I wanted to do with my life. I am lucky enough to be married to a wonderful man who does all of the practical building and repairing for me. My daughter helps me with the cleaning and feeding. We farm on a small but diverse scale. We raise rabbits for meat, free range chickens for eggs, and a mix of in season vegetables, fruits, and berries. We also produce compost and natural fertilizers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment